Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Who will make it to the MLB Hall of fame in 2011 from this list of candidates and why?

Jeff Bagwell, Rafael Palmeiro, John Olerud, Kevin Brown, Larry Walker, Juan Gonzalez, Tino Martinez, B.J. Surhoff, Marquis Grissom, John Franco, Bret Boone, Al Leiter, Benito Santiago, Carlos Baerga, Raul Mondesi, Bobby Higginson, Wilson Alvarez, Rey Sanchez, Charles Johnson, Jose Offerman, Ugueth Urbina, Ismael Valdez, Dan Wilson, Paul Quantrill, Cal Eldred, Kirk Rueter, Steve Reed

8 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Jeff Bagwell is the only Hall of Fame caliber player on the list but I don't see him getting in his first time.

    I don't think he's been tied to steroids but I might be wrong.

    Edit to Oklahoma: everyone who plays a certain number of years or games and who isn't banned from baseball is eligible for the hall of fame and thus is on the ballot when they have been retired for 5 years. They remain on the ballot for 15 years as long as they get at least 5% of the votes.

  • Tom
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago

    Bagwell should make it on the first try. Walker will stay on the ballot for 2012 and may well be elected in the next few years. Olerud, Brown, Franco and possibly Gonzalez should definitely get enough votes to stay on the ballot for 2012 but aren't likely to ever be elected. Olerud was good not great, Brown was a miserable SOB, Franco's saves total has been passed by Hoffman and Rivera with Wagner closing in, and Gonzalez is widely believed to have juiced (plus he tanked after age 31). I think Santiago is a longshot (a REAL longshot) to stay on as well. His offensive numbers are nothing special; he gets his respect from his defense, which has only worked for a few players as their entrance to the Hall, but he's on pretty much every short list of "greatest defensive catchers ever".

    Palmeiro's chances are probably about in line with Urbina's.

    Source(s): EDIT to Information Police: There is a screening committee involved as well, which weeds out the laughably unqualified players who pieced together a long enough career to make the 10-year cutoff.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Bagwell for his consistency for sure, Palmeiro will be stiffed cuz of his drug violations, most likely be awhile if he ever gets in, possibly Juan Gonzalez or Larry Walker,....Why is Maquis Grissom on the ballot? What did he ever do?

  • 1 decade ago

    Bagwell only.

    Larry Walker after 6 years

    Source(s): Roberto Alomar
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Raffy got caught up in a lie and Bagwell, although a jerk, has great career numbers. II think Byleven shold already be in, but since he did not win 300 games it is holding him back. Other than that the rest are just good but not great players.

  • 1 decade ago

    Bagwell is the only first ballot. And since it's not a very strong class this is the time Blyleven and Roberto Alomar will make it.

  • 1 decade ago

    john olerud,.,good luck,.

  • 1 decade ago


Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.