what is the legel age to move out in the state of maryland?

in the state of maryland at what age are you able to go through court to move out of your parents house? and live with someone else with out them having a fuss about it

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Moore
    Lv 7
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    You have to be 18 to move out in Maryland. And Maryland doesn't have emancipation laws like you might being thinking about (where you petition the court to be declared an adult and move out). You either have to be removed by child protective services, a formal transfer of parental custody or your parents must consent to you moving out.

    Emancipation of a minor as it's depicted in Hollywood and TV is more or less a fantasy. Even in states where a minor child can take unilateral action to petition the court for emancipation, it cannot be just to move in with friends. You have to prove to a judge that you are 100% self-sufficient, meaning you have a job, steady income, and a place willing to rent a dwelling place to you (most apartments will not rent to minors).

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • wizjp
    Lv 7
    10 years ago

    18

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.