Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Yahoo ProductsYahoo MailPassword and sign-in · 10 years ago

close e-mail account?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Accounts will close automatically if you wait. They used to close in 4 months of non use. The new policy is 6 months plus 2 months for each year you have been an member.

    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mail/classic/acco...

    To delete a Yahoo account now go to this page: https://edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_user

    Make sure that you understand that you are deleting a̲l̲l̲ Yahoo sites associated with the account ID including photos at F̲l̲i̲c̲k̲r̲.

    When you terminate your account you will lose access to your Yahoo! ID, Yahoo! Mail, and profile names. They will also delete your account data and settings across the Yahoo! network. This includes any contents in:

    ₪ Flickr - Don't forget that this is part of Yahoo. You will lose all your photos stored there.

    ₪ Yahoo! Mail

    ₪ Yahoo! Address Book

    ₪ Yahoo! HotJobs

    ₪ My Yahoo!

    ₪ Yahoo! Groups

    ₪ Finance Portfolio

    ₪ Yahoo! Answers - Profile only - Q&A remain

    Note that closing your account will not necessarily stop the address from being used for spam. Access to your mail is not needed to fake an address.

    ʎəɿʞɹɐq  ̊ ͜͡● ̊

  • 10 years ago

    To cancel your Yahoo account, go here: https://edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_user

    Then do the following:

    -Login with your current username and password

    -Select which account that you want to delete

    -Enter in your password once again for verification purposes

    -Enter in the anti-spam code; this is to prevent automated submissions

    -Click Terminate This Account to finish off this process.

    You can never open your account back up again because of security reasons. By terminating your Yahoo account, you will permanently lose access to it. Everything stored in your account will be lost during that process.

    All this includes:

    -Mail

    -Address Book

    -Answers (your posted content will remain permanently archived)

    -Messenger

    -My Yahoo!

    -Groups

    -Alerts

    -Flickr

    -Any other area that is accessible with your username and password

    The only other alternative is to let your account lapse after 6 months of inactivity, plus 2 months for each year you have been an member.

  • Arwen
    Lv 7
    10 years ago

    Here is how you can close your account:

    How do I close my account?

    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/edit/changing_use...

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.