Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Yahoo ProductsYahoo MailAbuse and spam · 9 years ago

If yahoo client has died, how do you close the account?

David, owner of account - drummond607 - has deceased. We wish to close the account. Why needs to be done?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    To close your Yahoo! account, please follow the steps on the Account Termination page. There are a few things you should understand before you delete your account.

    You will be asked to sign in or to verify the password for the account you want to delete. If you have forgotten your password, please use our Yahoo! Password Helper.

    Before deleting your account, please read the instructions on the Account Termination page carefully, as important information about your account is included. You can then confirm the deletion of your account.

    Some of the features discussed below can only be accessed or modified from a desktop or laptop computer. If the instructions listed do not work on your mobile device, you can log in to Yahoo! Mail on your computer.

    Please complete the deletion process only if you are certain you want to remove your entire Yahoo! account and any features you have personalized within the account. After you delete your Yahoo! account, you can’t reactivate it, although you can always sign up for a new account.

    When you close your account, you will lose access to your Yahoo! ID, Yahoo! Mail, and profile names. We will delete your account data and settings across the Yahoo! network. This means you will lose all of your content in Yahoo! Mail, Yahoo! Contacts, My Yahoo!, Yahoo! Groups, in your Yahoo! Finance Portfolio, and in any other area of Yahoo! that can only be accessed with your Yahoo! ID and password.

    Deleting your Yahoo! account does not alter or delete your Yahoo! People Search listing. You must edit or delete this separately.

    If you are subscribed to any premium services, we recommend that you cancel them before you delete your account. There is no guarantee that deleting your Yahoo! account will immediately cancel the billing for any premium services to which you are subscribed. To cancel your current subscriptions, please view the Yahoo! Billing Information for your account, click My Services, and then click the Cancel link for each subscription.

    GO HERE:

    https://edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_user?.scrumb=...

  • 9 years ago

    The only problem you might encounter is not knowing the password. If you do not you don't have to do anything. After 4 months of inactivity yahoo will delete it for you. If you know the password..see below

    Make sure you are logged in to the account you want to delete and then click on either link.

    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/acct/ba%E2%80%A6

    https://edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_use...

    https://login.yahoo.com/config/login_ver%E2%80%A6

    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/hotjobs%E2%80%A6

    Special attn: Make sure you read what you will LOSE when you cancel your account.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.