Will
Lv 7
Will asked in SportsFootball (American) · 8 years ago

Why did Washington State get the ball on the 25?

I thought that I knew the rules of college overtime. But I guess not. First play of overtime in the Apple Cup, the Washington QB in fighting a sack and throws a horrible pass, intercepted by the State lineman, and run back 67 yards to the other five. So Washington State gets the ball, but they spot it at the 25. So why wasn't it on the five?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    In CFB, the rules of overtime state that each possession starts at the 25 yard line. When WSU intercepted the ball, that ended WASH possession. They would have moved it to the 25 no matter where he was tackled (unless of course he scored).

  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

    Because Washington's possession ended with the interception by Wash St.----

    Therefore, the Cougars began their possession just like Washington did....at the 25.

  • 8 years ago

    because its considered a loss of possesion

    and if he would of scored it would of been over

    instead they get it at the 25 al they have to is kick a field goal and its over

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.