If a 15 year old went into a walgreens and demanded money armed with a pocket knife, what degree of robbery would it be?
1st, 2nd, or 3rd? I'm asking because i have a friend in custody who did this.
- 3 weeks ago
It is a well known fact that 15 year olds get off with committing crimes. I would cut my arm off for 18-20 year olds to have the same right. And until they were allowed to vote they did.
- BruceLv 73 weeks ago
Robbery is defined by state law, but using a weapon is the most severe.
Age is irrelevant. The court system is different for juveniles, but the crime is the same.
- xyzzyLv 73 weeks ago
It would vary by state but in Georgia it would be Armed Robbery which is a Class A felony
O.C.G.A. 16-8-41 (2010)
16-8-41. Armed robbery; robbery by intimidation; taking controlled substance from pharmacy in course of committing offense
(a) A person commits the offense of armed robbery when, with intent to commit theft, he or she takes property of another from the person or the immediate presence of another by use of an offensive weapon, or any replica, article, or device having the appearance of such weapon. The offense of robbery by intimidation shall be a lesser included offense in the offense of armed robbery.
(b) A person convicted of the offense of armed robbery shall be punished by death or imprisonment for life or by imprisonment for not less than ten nor more than 20 years
Because they are a juvenile they would most likely get 3 years in the custody of the Department of Corrections.
- curtisports2Lv 73 weeks ago
You failed to mention what state this is. Laws vary by state.
Edit: In Connecticut, this can be charged as 1st, 2nd or 3rd, depending on how the prosecutor wants to proceed. Some of has said that 1st degree only applies if a non-participant in the crime was injured. Maybe in some states, but not Connecticut. Connecticutt says OR, not AND.
Any ONE of those can bring a 1st degree charge, it does not have to more than one or all four.
A person is guilty of robbery in the first degree when, in the course of the commission of the crime of robbery as defined in section 53a-133 or of immediate flight therefrom, he or another participant in the crime:
(1) Causes serious physical injury to any person who is not a participant in the crime;
(2) is armed with a deadly weapon;
(3) uses or threatens the use of a dangerous instrument;
(4) displays or threatens the use of what he represents by his words or conduct to be a pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, machine gun or other firearm, except that in any prosecution under this subdivision, it is an affirmative defense that such pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, machine gun or other firearm was not a weapon from which a shot could be discharged. Nothing contained in this subdivision shall constitute a defense to a prosecution for, or preclude a conviction of, robbery in the second degree, robbery in the third degree or any other crime.
Chances are the prosecutor will offer 2nd or maybe even 3rd on a plea deal. 1 is a Class B felony, 2 is Class C, 3 is Class D.
This page shows the punishments for felonies in Connecticut.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- ?Lv 73 weeks ago
In my state, it would be armed robbery. There are no degrees of robbery.
- JonZLv 73 weeks ago
Most likely it would be a 3rd degree robbery charge....so long as he did not injure anyone while trying to rob them. His jail time would depend on the state or jurisdiction in which he committed the crime and the prosecutor.
- Badge 203Lv 43 weeks ago
Armed robbery is a felony and the prosecutor and his lawyer would work out a plea deal. And some states the degree would be determined by state law. The fact he is only 15 would put him in juvenile court however and his past juvenile record would come into play at the sentencing
- Anonymous3 weeks ago
It depends what the color of their skin is
- SquidmasterLv 73 weeks ago
Age is absolutely irrelevant to the crime, and would only be relevant to possible sentence or WHERE they were imprisoned.
In this case - armed robbery with no injury caused - its third degree. This has a possible jail term of seven years.
Second would require an accomplice or causing injury, whilst first would require serious injury being inflicted.