Do deleted files get backed up when you backup your computer?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Steven
    Lv 4
    1 year ago
    Favorite Answer

    No it will not recovered...

    Attachment image
  • It depends on the specifics of your backup process, but in general, once you back something up, it remains in the backup file until the backup itself is deleted.

  • 1 year ago

    Depends on your backup settings. For instance if you do a full clone backup then yes. If you do just specific files and folders like you documents and desktop them no. But even if you only do specific files and folders you can still get the deleted file back with recovery software. Unless you regularly install a lot of software and such it'll take months or years to over write the sectors that had the file data so even 6 moths or even a year or more later you can still get the document back.

    Source(s): 20 Yeah of computers building and Certified Ethical Hacking.
  • keerok
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

    No.

    ?!

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 year ago

    Nope... sorry :-\

  • 1 year ago

    No, the process of back-up will only cover current files, and not those that have been deleted.

  • Bill-M
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

    No, They Do Not get Backed up.

  • 1 year ago

    Nope,,and usually get over written for the freed up disc room.

  • John
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

    No, deleted files are ignored by the OS.  That space is ok for new files to write on.

  • 1 year ago

    No.

    When you 'delete' a file it's location is removed from the hard drive directory.  It is still there but invisible.  Eventually it will get written over and that will destroy it.

    Backups only backup the files it can see in the directory.  Deleted files - never.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.