How many times is a ball-carrier allowed to hit defenders,step back and keep running before his forward motion is considered stopped?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    4 months ago
    Favorite Answer

    He is only considered stopped if the ref decides he has been stopped. There is no objective measure of when he has been stopped. It is a subjective judgement call. When the ref blows the whistle, then the play is over. Usually his forward progress is considered stopped if defenders pushed him backward toward the other end zone and he then goes down or he has stooped running.

  • 4 months ago

    42.............

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 4 months ago

    same thing as WR's, it's where the referee's define forward progress

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.