In NHL hockey, if a penalty shot is called but time runs out before the defense touches puck, do they still get the shot? Or is game over?
- James BlackleyLv 72 months agoFavorite Answer
I'm confused by what you mean here-
Are you asking if a guy is on a breakaway, gets halled down before he can take the shot but the buzzer ends before the ref can blow the whistle? Then there is no penalty shot, game is over, final buzzer has sounded.
Now if this occurs before the buzzer goes off, penalty shot occurs.
- curtisports2Lv 72 months ago
If a penalty shot is called, time is called. The shot itself is on dead time.
The only time the clock runs until the defense gains possession is on a delayed penalty, which a penalty shot is not.
- conley39Lv 72 months ago
Yes, they still get the penalty shot.
- BobLv 72 months ago
When a penalty shot is called, play stops immediately,however if a penalty is called and the time expires before the defense touches the puck, there would be no penalty and the game is over.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- opurtLv 72 months ago
An infraction that earns a penalty shot is an immediate whistle, and doesn't need to wait on the defensive team touching the puck. If it happened so close to the end of the game that the game ended before the referee could blow their whistle, they'd review it and set the clock at whatever small amount of time was left on the clock when they would have blown the play dead and award the penalty shot. It's also possible that it simply gets called as an automatic goal, depending on exactly what happened.
If it was just a delayed penalty that does wait on the defense touching the puck, they'd still call the penalty at 20:00 of the 3rd period, but it wouldn't affect the game since it's over.
- Anonymous2 months ago
they obviously get the shot, you cant just do whatever the hell you want in the last seconds and get away with it
- jimmyLv 52 months ago
Penalty shots happen as soon as the foul against a player on a breakaway happens. Unlike regular penalties the defense doesn't have to touch the puck before it's called. So there wouldn't be a situation where the time could run out before the penalty shot is taken.
- Bone AloneLv 72 months ago
Don’t they stop play immediately if there’s a penalty shot. A penalty shot is usually when the defense trips the offensive player on a breakaway or he knocks the net loose to stop play. In either case, the whistle is blown as soon as the penalty occurs.
- Donald KLv 62 months ago
It depends on what league your talking about.