If balks are made to prevent the pitcher from deceiving the base runner, how is the hidden ball trick still a legal play?
- dawgdaysLv 74 months ago
Pitchers try to deceive runners all the time, but not every deception warrants a balk call. There are thirteen specific rules that govern pitcher balks, and two other rules in which an action by the catcher causes the pitcher to be charged with a balk.
One of the balk rules sometimes comes into play during the hidden ball trick. If the pitcher does not have the ball and takes a position "on or astride" the pitcher's plate, that is illegally deceiving the runner, and is a balk. If the pitcher stays off the rubber, he hasn't started the pitching ritual, and the other balk rules do not apply.
- Anonymous4 months ago
The purpose of the balk rule is to preserve a balance between runners attempts to steal bases and the defense's attempts to retire them. A pitcher makes an illegal motion in order to trick the runner.
When it comes to the hidden ball play it's up to the baserunner and/or coach to be aware of where the ball is. If they fail to do that they deserve to be put out.
- LegFuJohnsonLv 74 months ago
Balks are made to prevent the deceiving of runners when it comes to throwing a pitch. The hidden ball trick has nothing to do with throwing a pitch. Just like when an infielder fakes a throw to a base, to try to catch a different runner, that's legal too.
Are you going to start whining about that as well?
You ever see an outfielder hold up his glove for a second (on a ball he isn't going to catch) to try to get a runner to hold up for a moment. Oh my god, can you believe that's legal? Start a campaign.