Lee asked in SportsBaseball · 2 months ago

Bases loaded, 2 Outs Ground b hit to SS who TAGS the RUNNER Headed to 3rd. Runner on 3rd runs home before the 3rd out. Does the run count?

Bases are loaded with with Two outs.    Ground ball is hit to to the shortstop.    Shortstop then TAGS the BASE RUNNER that was on second base while heading to third getting the 3rd out.   (Short stop does not touch the base he tags the runner.) Before that tag was made the runner on 3rd advances home and touches home plate before the 3rd out. Does that run count?

5 Answers

  • 2 months ago

    No, it does not count. It was a force play.  Had first base been open, it would not have been a force out situation and if the runner from third crossed the plate before the third out was recorded, the run counts.

  • David
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    There's no run available to score.  The runner from third may have crossed the plate, but he hasn't scored.  The runner from second is out whether tagged or whether the ball beats him to third base.  NO score.

  • 2 months ago

    Run does not count.  A force is in effect.  It doesn't matter that the runner was tagged, not the base.  It's still considered a force out.

  • 2 months ago

    Absolutely not. The last out is made and the game is over. 

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Alan
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    No the run does not count ,  due to the runner going to 3rd was 

    still  was forced out.  It's a tricky question.  The rule book says it does not count if the runner going to first is called out before reaching first or any other runner is forced out.     The rule is listed on this website. https://sports.stackexchange.com/questions/1595/do... is the runner at going from 2nd to 3rd forced out  if he is 

    tagged instead touching the base.  

    Per Wikipedia he is still forced out. 


Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.