Should the Necroscope books be read in the order published?

3 Answers

  • Anonymous
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

    I would say yes.  I read them back when they were published, but my recollection is that they are fairly serialized with recurring characters and situations that build upon previous books.

  • 1 month ago

    Oh, no. No, they shouldn't. Each page, over the complete series should be read totally at random. Hope this helped.

  • Zac Z
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

    The suggested reading order found at Brian Lumley's website is pretty much the published order ( scroll down to #5):


    01. Necroscope®

    02. Necroscope II: Vamphyri! (spelled Wamphyri! in UK)

    03. Necroscope III: The Source

    04. Necroscope IV: Deadspeak

    05. Necroscope V: Deadspawn

    06. Vampire World I: Blood Brothers

    07. Vampire World II: The Last Aerie

    08. Vampire World III: Bloodwars

    09. The Lost Years Vol. I (UK) ... Necroscope: The Lost Years (US)

    10. The Lost Years Vol. II (UK) ... Necroscope: Resurgence Lost Years Vol. 2 (US)

    11. E-Branch: Invaders (UK) ... Necroscope: Invaders (US)

    12. Necroscope: Defilers

    13. Necroscope: Avengers

    14. Necroscope: The Touch


    Harry Keogh: Necroscope & Other Weird Heroes. Contents: [...] Harry Keogh: Necroscope: Dead Eddy, Dinosaur Dreams, Resurrection. 

    Necroscope: Harry & The Pirates. Contents: For the Dead Travel Slowly, Harry and the Pirates, Old Man With A Blade.


    Necroscope: The Plague-Bearer

    Necroscope: The Möbius Murders


    If you compare this with the published order you'll see that the only outlier is the collection "Harry Keogh: Necroscope & Other Weird Heroes!" which contains three Harry Keogh stories (as well as five others). But since these are side stories or fill in narrative gaps, I guess it doesn't matter to read them out of publishing order. I wouldn't lose too much sleep over that.

    There's an additional story that's not yet listed on Lumley suggested reading order, "In Dublin's Fair City", which was first published in a magazine in 2017 and was then included in the collection "Necroscope: The Last of the Lost Years, Vol. I".

    This is one of two collections (the other being "Vol. II") which have the same stories Harry Keogh stories that are also in "Necroscope & Other Weird Heroes!" and "Harry & the Pirates" as well as "The Plague-Bearer " and "The Möbius Murders".

    However, the stories are in a different order than in the above-mentioned collections.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.