Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkVegetarian & Vegan · 4 weeks ago

Do vegetarians eat cheese and eggs?

Do they drink milk? Any Yogurt? 

17 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 weeks ago

    Vegetarians that eat dairy are lacto-vegetarians. They allow milk products (which can also have eggs fall under this heading) in their diet.

  • 4 weeks ago

      Vegetarians can be basically broken down into different groups. The most common perhaps in the U.S. are the lacto-ovo-vegetarians, who can eat eggs and dairy they will exclude many types of cheese due to how it's made, as some types are made with rennet, which is derived from animals. Then there are the lacto-vegetarians, the ovo-vegetarians, and strict vegetarians, from which vegans originated from. However a strict vegetarian will differ from a vegan. One example of the difference from a strict vegetarian, is that it's acceptable for a strict vegetarian to wear wool, however for a vegan, the wearing of wool is not acceptable. Also it can be acceptable for a strict vegetarian to use and eat honey, which also isn't acceptable to any who are vegan.

      However many types of cheeses that were in the past, which were off limits to those vegetarians that allowed for dairy, now are acceptable, as the animal based rennet is now replaced with a plant based rennet. Those who are of the lacto, and lacto-ovo type vegetarians, generally will use milk butter, cream, ghee, yogurt, and other dairy based foods, and as I said, some exceptions with some of the different types of cheeses, which are usually most of the soft cheeses. 

  • 4 weeks ago

    Depends on whether they are vegetarian, vegan, pescatarian etc.

    Vegans a hard no, vegetarians possibly yes.

  • Anonymous
    4 weeks ago

    yup milk, butter, eggs, cheese, and yogurt. 

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 4 weeks ago

    Yes, quite a lot of them eat cheese and eggs, and milk and yogurt. Or they use these things in cooking. If you don't eat ANY animal products or use them, you are not merely a vegetarian, but a VEGAN. There are fewer vegans than vegetarians. 

  • geezer
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

    Vegetarians eat any animal by-product if an animal didn't have to be killed to produce it.

    So that's YES to eggs, milk and yoghurt.

    Cheese (to a STRICT vegetarian) would depend if it had any 'animal' rennet in it.

    Rennet is an enzyme used to coagulate milk in the cheese making process

    and it is extracted from the stomach of a recently slaughtered 'ruminant mammal' .. usually a calf.

    There are 'vegetarian' versions of rennet.

  • 4 weeks ago

    Yes. Not vegans, though. 

  • denise
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

    Yes, they eat eggs and dairy products.

  • kswck2
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

    Vegetarians do, but Vegans do not. 

  • Pearl
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

    it might depend on the person

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.